All things new

Unlike the metamorphosis of a butterfly that requires nothing of the caterpillar but to obey the wirings of its making and submit to its will to lay dormant within the cocoon for  7 – 14 days before emerging as a new creation, my metamorphosis is made up of multiple conscious decisions that must be acted out with much effort.

I am writing this piece on the iMac that I have finally been able to make space for, by making tough decisions to throw much of my past life away. I am a hoarder in rehabilitation, hoping to kick the habit before it consumes me and buries me under the objects that I could not bear to part with. I still have much to get rid of, but I have made significant progress, and it deserves to be celebrated.

2017-04-23 12.10.21.jpg

During this journey, I have found some tips from Marie Kondo to be helpful, especially the point about using joy as a selection criteria of what to keep. On top of that, my identity as a Child of God who has been adopted into an eternal inheritance demands that I no longer hold on to what’s behind, but run with perseverance the race set before me, fixing my eyes on Jesus (Hebrews 12:1-2).

Jesus, while He was on earth, said,

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will also be.

Beyond the act of hoarding, in the final analysis, it is all about the heart condition, about making room for what really matters till the end of time.

Leave a Reply

