to toil and be satisfied

A person can do nothing better than to eat and drink and find satisfaction in their own toil. This too, I see, is from the hand of God, for without him, who can eat or find enjoyment?
— Ecclesiastes 2:24-25

Today at church we had an unprecedented open panel discussion about sex, and the issues around it. The panel was not made up of amazing people, but fallen ones. People who have failed, have tried, still fail, still trying, and every day living by Grace and Love, not by works. I really appreciated all their openness and vulnerability, just so all of us young adults could learn from their experiences and walk ever more so steadily in this world where morals are shaky. I am grateful for the Church that I can call my family, where I learn important things that even my parents might find hard/awkward to broach. It’s true as they have said that as the Church we have to cast God’s light and truth on this area that Satan wants to keep in the dark.

More than just that talk about sex and the leaders’ real struggles, I brought home with me a further understanding that different stages in life presents different challenges. As a young woman, I have to build myself up in preparation for the support, understanding, wisdom and love that my husband would need from me. I have to learn to clothe myself “with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience” (Colossians 3:12), “with decency and propriety” (1 Timothy 2:9), and “with good deeds, appropriate for women who profess to worship God” (1 Timothy 2:10).

With regards to clothing, hearing from the leaders’ struggles and how easily the flesh is aroused, I am convicted all the more to dress decently with taste, instead of conforming to the declining standards of societal fashion, so that in my dressing I may exalt God and will not be a stumbling block to any brother’s growth. I shall be pure by God’s standards; if any one might think lustfully of me, woe be to you in God’s sight; He holds each of us accountable for every deed and thought.

Leave a Reply

