growing in obedience

Yesterday, like today, was off to a great start. Until I read the Bible…

How can it be, you wonder, how can reading the Bible be a bad thing?

No it is not bad, not at all, it’s just that I was a tad overwhelmed by “Ezekiel’s Call”.

And whether they listen or fail to listen —for they are a rebellious house —they will know that a prophet has been among them.And you, son of man, do not be afraid of them or their words. Do not be afraid, though briers and thorns are all around you and you live among scorpions. Do not be afraid of what they say or terrified by them, though they are a rebellious house. You must speak my words to them, whether they listen or fail to listen, for they are rebellious. But you, son of man, listen to what I say to you. Do not rebel like that rebellious house; open your mouth and eat what I give you.”

I thought about the many times I ignored God’s prompts because I was afraid that people would not pay heed to me and I realised that by doing so I had been in the pits with the rebellious house, which does not please the Lord! I was so ashamed, yet so afraid, because it is not easy 😦 I fell back on the sofa, trying to pray but i drifted off to sleep for about 1h+.

This morning, I woke up early again (PRAISE GOD!) and continued my journey towards self-discipline. And I decided to continue reading the Bible despite yesterday’s fears and shock.

Today it was a story of hope.

When Ezekiel obeyed God’s command to eat the scroll, he recorded that “it tasted as sweet as honey in my mouth”! Wow! I admit, I was thinking it’d be bitter, I mean how can a scroll taste like anything but paper? It reassured me that God’s call though it may be difficult He will make it good (come on His call must be good isn’t it?).

Furthermore, God knows that the house of Israel where Ezekiel was to first speak is “hardened and obstinate”. Yet what He continued saying encouraged me so much. “But I will make you as unyielding and hardened as they are. I will make your forehead like the hardest stone, harder than flint. Do not be afraid of them or terrified by them, though they are a rebellious people.” Do not be afraid, for He will make you stronger, strong enough to withstand what is to come. That is comforting. God will not leave me in the lurch, and He will help me in my areas of lack to do what He has called.

Today’s devotional by Joseph Prince spoke about how God’s supply only stops when the demand for His supply ends. Which means to say, as long as I have the demand for it (e.g. continual projects to handle, a lot of stress that never ends etc) His supply of wisdom and grace for this area always flows. I can depend on Him.

In response to all this, I pray that God, You’ll grant me Samuel’s ears to be acutely aware and sensitive about what You are calling me to do. And grant me Ezekiel’s obedience to follow whatever You say and really do it. Grant me a pure heart. Thank You for Your abundant grace that helps me live each day. In Jesus’s mighty name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

